DCCC Tau Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Inducts 49 New Members

PTK Group

Dec. 10, 2014 – The Davidson County Community College Tau Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa inducted 49 new members during a ceremony held recently on the Davidson campus. 

DCCC President Dr. Mary E. Rittling and Vice President for Academic Programs and Services Jeannine Woody addressed the inductees.

"It was an honor to be a part of the Phi Theta Kappa induction ceremony,” Rittling says. “I'm proud of their accomplishments and look forward to seeing their leadership and scholarship develop."

“I am so happy to induct another large group of students into Phi Theta Kappa,” says Sara Neeves, chapter adviser. “We have worked very hard to increase our activity on campus and this group of inductees shows us that our hard work is paying off. We have an outstanding group of officers who will continue to build our membership.” 

Fall 2014 inductees are Kathleen Arrington, James Bronson III, Kevin Brunson, Danny Bundy, Steven Casey, John Cecil, Rebekah Conrad, Donald Cover, Courtney Cox-Manser, Nicole Craver, Allison Dark, Ashley Dark, Janet Denmark, Crystal Dunbar, Jessica Furlipa, Glamar Galeas, Brianna Gallegos, Manuel Gonzalez, Benjamin Harrison, Daniel Hillanbrand, Mary Hyatt, Daniel Jones, Lane Kennedy, Crystal Kissee, Megan Lambeth, Jessica Lancaster, Martha Lang, Taylor Laydon, Thomas Little, Sophia Massey, Christopher McRee, Christopher Mendenhall, Lanna Miller, Maegan Mills, Elise Nagle, Sarah Nareau, Cinthia Pecina-Perez, Daniel Perry, Courtney Pope, Donna  Rankins-Abrams, Lloyd Scarberry, Kaitlin Skidmore, Mathew Slagle, Ben Smith, Hannah Sprinkle, Jesse Teetor, Logan Ware, Joanna Williams and Gina Wright.

Phi Theta Kappa OfficersAdditionally, 2014-2015 chapter officers were officially installed during the ceremony. They are Carrie Poeltl and Jana Buzov, co-presidents; Travis Hundley, vice president of fellowship; Darlene Trahan, vice president of service; Chad Leftwich, vice president of leadership; Zack Rierson, vice president of fundraising; and Parker Tilley, vice president of public relations and records.

Phi Theta Kappa is an international scholastic society that recognizes the academic achievement of two-year college students. To be eligible for membership, a student must be enrolled in an associate degree program, have successfully completed at least 12 semester hours by the end of the fall semester, have attained a cumulative grade-point average of 3.6 or higher and possess outstanding traits of character and citizenship.

The Tau Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa was chartered at Davidson County Community College in 1969.

*Editor’s note: Pictured in the first photo are the fall 2014 Phi Theta Kappa inductees at Davidson County Community College. In the second photo, the 2014-2015 Tau Beta chapter officers are (from left) Zack Rierson, Carrie Poeltl, Parker Tilley, Darlene Trahan, Travis Hundley, Jana Buzov and Chad Leftwich.

Founded in 1963, Davidson County Community College is noted for its quality educational programs and services. As one of 58 institutions within the North Carolina Community College System, DCCC offers studies in more than 50 degree programs. A fully-accredited, multi-campus college, DCCC celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2013 and is looking forward to serving students in Davidson and Davie counties for many years to come. The college is committed to developing minds, inspiring imaginations, and preparing students for enhanced career and educational opportunities within a changing global environment. Visit Davidson County Community College on the Web at davidsonccc.edu.