DCCC Students Awarded Golden LEAF Scholarships

April 28, 2014 – Nine students from Davidson County Community College will receive scholarships through the Golden LEAF Scholarship program for the North Carolina Community College System. The Golden LEAF Scholarship program, designed to help North Carolinians residing in rural counties that are tobacco-dependent and/or economically distressed to attend the state’s community colleges and universities, is funded through a $2.4 million grant from the Golden LEAF Foundation.

The scholarship can be used for tuition, books, fees, supplies, transportation and childcare related to attending certain qualifying classes during the academic year. Eligible students must demonstrate financial need and reside in eligible counties as designated by the Golden Leaf Foundation. Scholarships for both occupational and curriculum students are available during the fall, spring and summer semesters until the colleges allocation is fully spent. 

Students awarded scholarships from DCCC include:

‧      Hillary Cartner, of Mocksville, who is in the College Transfer program.

‧      Evan Cave, of Mocksville, who is in the Truck Driver Training program.

‧      Heidi Heller, of Mocksville, who is in the Accounting program.

‧      Jessica Miller, of Trinity, who is in the Nursing Assistant 1 program.

‧      Karla Moreno-Luna, of Mocksville, who is in the Nursing Assistant 1 program.

‧      Susan Riddle, of Mocksville, who is in the Practical Nurse Education program.

‧      Jamie Smith, of Mocksville, who is in the Phlebotomy program.

‧      Hope Sutterlin, of Mocksville, who is in the Nursing Assistant 1 program.

‧      Marie Wood, of Mocksville, who is in the Automotive Systems Technology program.

“This Golden LEAF scholarship serves as great resource to these students,” said Sandra Porter, Enrollment Services coordinator at the DCCC Davie Campus. “The assistance the award provides helps alleviate some of the financial burden, allowing students to focus their attention on academics. It also helps fund areas of study not covered by traditional federal financial aid.”

The Golden LEAF Foundation is a nonprofit organization established in 1999 to help transform North Carolina’s economy. The foundation receives one-half of North Carolina’s funds from the 1998 Master Settlement Agreement with cigarette manufacturers and places special emphasis on assisting tobacco-dependent, economically distressed and/or rural communities across the state. The Golden LEAF Foundation works in partnership with governmental entities, educational institutions, economic development organizations and nonprofits to achieve its mission. The foundation has awarded 1,249 grants totaling more than $548 million since its inception. For more information, about the foundation, visit www.goldenleaf.org or call (888) 684-8404.

To find a list of participating community colleges and eligible counties, visit www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/Stu_Dev_Services/goldenLeafScholarsProgram.htmor www.goldenleaf.org . Students interested in applying for a Golden LEAF Scholarship at DCCC should contact Sandra Porter, Enrollment Services Counselor, 336-751-2885, ext. 4853 or slporter@davidsonccc.edu.    

Founded in 1963, Davidson County Community College is noted for its quality educational programs and services. As one of 58 institutions within the North Carolina Community College System, DCCC offers studies in more than 50 degree programs. A fully-accredited, multi-campus college, DCCC celebrates its 50th anniversary this year. It is committed to developing minds, inspiring imaginations, and preparing students for enhanced career and educational opportunities within a changing global environment. Visit Davidson County Community College on the Web at davidsonccc.edu.

Applicants must reside in one of the following counties to be eligible:

Alexander, Alleghany, Anson, Ashe, Avery, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Burke, Caldwell, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Cleveland, Columbus, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Davie, Duplin, Edgecombe, Franklin, Gates, Graham, Granville, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Jackson, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Macon, Madison, Martin, McDowell, Mitchell, Montgomery, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Polk, Randolph, Richmond, Robeson, Rockingham, Rutherford, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance, Warren, Washington, Watauga, Wayne, Wilkes, Wilson, Yadkin or Yancey.   

Golden LEAF Scholars Program – Two Year Colleges

Participating Campuses: 

Alamance CC

Beaufort County CC

Bladen CC

Blue Ridge CC

Brunswick CC

Caldwell CC & Tech. Inst.

Cape Fear CC

Carteret CC

Central Carolina CC

Central Piedmont CC

Cleveland CC

Coastal Carolina CC

College of the Albemarle

Craven CC

Davidson County CC

Edgecombe CC

Fayetteville Tech. CC

Forsyth Tech. CC

Guilford Tech. CC

Halifax CC

Haywood CC

Isothermal CC

James Sprunt CC

Johnston CC

Lenoir CC

Martin CC

Mayland CC

McDowell CC

Montgomery CC

Nash CC

Pamlico CC

Piedmont CC

Pitt CC

Randolph CC

Richmond CC

Roanoke-Chowan CC

Robeson CC

Rockingham CC

Sampson CC

South Piedmont CC

Southeastern CC

Southwestern CC

Stanly CC

Surry CC

Tri-County CC

Vance-Granville CC

Wake Tech CC

Wayne CC

Western Piedmont CC

Wilkes CC

Wilson CC