DCCC President Joins NC Campus Compact Executive Board

Mary E. Rittling

Jan. 22, 2015 – Dr. Mary Rittling, president of Davidson County Community College, has joined the executive board for North Carolina Campus Compact. Rittling will serve a three-year term as one of 10 presidents and chancellors who guide the statewide network of colleges and universities.

DCCC joined the Compact in 2007, and is one of four community colleges among the network’s 35 current member institutions. The Compact is the only collaborative in the state focused exclusively on promoting the public service mission of higher education and one of the only groups that connects public, independent and community colleges and universities.

“I’m delighted to join the executive board of N.C. Campus Compact as I can think of no better way to work in collaboration with other leaders across the state in developing initiatives that encourage student community involvement,” says Rittling. “I believe that a very important component of a good education is the ability to acknowledge community needs and a willingness to serve.” 

Rittling joins Dr. William Ingram, president of Durham Technical Community College, and Dr. Scott Ralls, president of the N.C. Community College System, in representing community colleges on the board. 

The other North Carolina Campus Compact executive board members are Dr. Nido Qubein, president, High Point University (Chair); Dr. Jo Allen, president, Meredith College; Dr. James A. Anderson, chancellor, Fayetteville State University; Dr. David Belcher, chancellor, Western Carolina University; Dr. Leo Lambert, president, Elon University; Dr. Harold Martin, chancellor, N.C. A&T State University; Dr. Carol Quillen, president, Davidson College; Dr. Smith Jackson, vice president for student affairs, Elon University (Ex Officio); and Ms. Leslie Garvin, executive director, N.C. Campus Compact (Ex Officio). 

North Carolina Campus Compact member schools share a commitment to educating engaged citizens and strengthening communities. Founded in 2002 and hosted by Elon University, the Compact supports faculty, staff and students through professional development and resources related to civic and community engagement.

Member schools are also part of national Campus Compact, which includes more than 1,100 college and university presidents representing 6 million students across the country.

Founded in 1963, Davidson County Community College is noted for its quality educational programs and services. As one of 58 institutions within the North Carolina Community College System, DCCC offers studies in more than 50 degree programs. A fully accredited, multi-campus college, DCCC celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2013 and is looking forward to serving students in Davidson and Davie counties for many years to come. The college is committed to developing minds, inspiring imaginations and preparing students for enhanced career and educational opportunities within a changing global environment. Visit Davidson County Community College at davidsonccc.edu.