DCCC Presents Awards to Outstanding Students, Faculty

Jamie Williams Accepting Award

April 29, 2015 – The Office of Student Life at Davidson County Community College recognized dozens of outstanding students and faculty during the college’s annual student awards ceremony on April 28. 

“We are so proud of this year’s award winners, who have been deeply involved in campus activities while maintaining excellence in their academic studies,” said Lynne Watts, director of student life and leadership. “The individuals we honored with awards are shining examples of the dedicated and driven students we have the pleasure of educating and mentoring on this campus.”

The following list provides the winner and a description for each award: 

  • Ashlin McGuinn, Exemplary Learner of the Year
    This award recognizes one DCCC student who has demonstrated excellence, integrity and respect in their field of study. 
  • Donna Jo Tiller, Against All Odds: The Student Triumphant Award
    This award is given to the student who has faced a physical or other significant challenge in his or her life while continuing to excel in academic and co-curricular activities.
  • Parker Tilley, President’s Service Award
    This award recognizes an outstanding student for his or her overall contribution to the college and the communities it serves.
  • Lydia Mock, Emerging Leader Award
    This award recognizes a first-year student who has taken the initiative to get involved in student organizations and campus life, and has shown great potential as a future leader.
  • Courtney Odom, Unsung Hero Award
    This award is given to a student who has influenced a program or organization from behind the scenes with a positive attitude and willingness to help in whatever capacity necessary.
  • Elizabeth McSparin, Student Employee of the Year Award
    This award is given to the student employee who went far beyond his or her paid responsibilities and modeled student leadership by developing relationships, empowering others and creating community at the college.
  • Jamie Williams, Zoo and Aquarium Science Club, Student Organization Officer of the Year
    The Student Officer of the Year has proven able to inspire and motivate others, question the status quo, serve as a role model for other student leaders, and effectively and responsibly manage a group of students.
  • Katherine Smith Hubbard, Student Organization Member of the Year
    This student is recognized as being especially active within a student organization, acting as a positive role model and motivating others to make a difference in the campus and local community.
  • Student Ambassadors, Student Organization of the YearDCCC Student Amabassadors
    This award recognizes a registered student organization that has made significant contributions to its own membership, the student body and the DCCC community through programming, educational opportunities and/or service projects.
  • Randy Patterson, Criminal Justice Club, Advisor of the Year 
    This award honors a faculty or staff advisor who provides outstanding support and guidance to a student group. This individual consistently goes beyond the call of duty to support and improve the out-of-class experience of students.
  • “Haunted Trails” by the Zoo and Aquarium Science, Exceptional Program of the Year
    This award recognizes significant achievements in the planning and presentation of programs, either a one-time event or a series of events occurring during the school year.

The awards ceremony recognized the students who earned the designation of Scholars of Global Distinction. Students also were inducted into the honor societies of Sigma Alpha Pi and Alpha Sigma Lambda.

Scholars of Global Distinction

  • Fall 2014: Mitchell Cleary, Marisa Drake, Manuel Gonzalez, Hannah Harrison, Emma Rogers, Marcela Soto
  • Spring 2015: Brooklyn Brinkley, Tremaine Cunningham, Cody Grant, Raye Kennedy, Joshua (Chad) Leftwich, Hallie McCray, Cheyenne McMahan, Phillip Michael, Cinthia Pecina, Lloyd Scarberry, Hannah Swicegood

Sigma Alpha Pi (National Society of Leadership and Success) Inductees:

Edith Bahena-Gutierrez, Teondra Billie, Candice Bobo, Shannon Bowman, Bethzua Cardenas, Ruth Castro, Candace Caudill, Jimmy Cox, Ahsaki Davis, Keith Davis, Meghan DeLapp, Courtney Dowdy, Heidi Franks, Faithe Franks, Cody Grant, Allyson Griffith, Melissa Haas-Jones, Ginny Hall, Amber Hildebrant, Bradley Hulin, Tonya Kimber, Erica Lalone, Megan Lambeth, Brandi Latham, Katherine Lawrence, Rachel Leonard, Jordan Leonard, Christopher Loggains, Ashlin McGuinn, Ashley Medlin, Marshall Michael, Leah Miller, George Mitchell, Brittany Moretz, Mahamane S. Moussa, Courtney Odom, Clancy Pecorelli Bollat, Todd Perry, Daniel Perry, Courtney Pope, Thomas Rawls, Cordero Redmon, Chelsey Reinhardt, Jenna Rice, Erin Richardson, Yesenia Rojas, Yakari Rosales, Jordan Saintsing, Lloyd Scarberry, Hayden Shore, Mathew Slagle, Candace Small, Benjamin Smith, Megan Tysinger, Kendra Walters, Jessica White

Jimmy Cox, Ahsaki Davis, Ashley Medlin and Courtney Odum also received the National Engaged Leader Award for going above and beyond the standard requirements for induction.

Alpha Sigma Lambda (honor society for non-traditional undergraduate students) Inductees:

Lee Barber, Shonda Burch, Steven Casey, Jimmy Cox, Lauren Edwards, Brandon Travis Goins, Trevor McClain Hardie, Tony Brooks Hunt, Morgan Johnson, Amber Kittrell, Megan Lambeth, Samantha Maynard, Leah Miller, Carrie Poeltl, Michael Troutman, Lashana Williams, Alexandra Zulovitz

Students also nominated faculty and staff for excellence awards, and the recipients were announced during the ceremony:

Excellence in Teaching Award:

Susan Huneycutt, Megan Bruff and Delores Livengood

Excellence in Service to Students Award:

Carolyn Davis, Jana Andrews and Britney Cowan

*Editor's note: In the first photo, Jamie Williams speaks after accepting the Student Officer of the Year Award for her leadership in the Zoo and Aquarium Science Club. In the second photo, Dr. Mary Rittling (left), DCCC president, congratulates SGA Senator Jesus Escamilla for his year of exemplary service. In the third photo, Student Organization of the Year winners, the Student Ambassadors, are (from left) Jenny Ferguson (adviser), Ashlin McGuinn, Madison Swope, Minerva Jenkins, Lloyd Scarberry, Megan Lambeth, Parker Tilley, Patrina Holt, Kenneth “Alex” Darr, Lydia Mock and Michael McGee (adviser). 

Founded in 1963, Davidson County Community College is noted for its quality educational programs and services. As one of 58 institutions within the North Carolina Community College System, DCCC offers studies in more than 50 degree programs. A fully accredited, multi-campus college, DCCC celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2013 and is looking forward to serving students in Davidson and Davie counties for many years to come. The college is committed to developing minds, inspiring imaginations and preparing students for enhanced career and educational opportunities within a changing global environment. Visit Davidson County Community College at davidsonccc.edu.