DCCC Announces Golden LEAF Scholarship Opportunities

Thomasville, N.C. September 8, 2015 Davidson County Community College is pleased to announce scholarships are available for the fall, spring and summer terms through a grant made by the Golden LEAF Foundation to the North Carolina Community College System. Curriculum students may apply for up to $750 per semester and occupational education students are eligible for up to $250 per term. Golden LEAF Scholarships can be used to assist with tuition, fees, books, supplies, transportation and childcare expenses related to attending classes during the 2015-16 academic year and industry-recognized credential testing expenses that address skill gaps, upon course completion. Eligible students must demonstrate financial need and reside in rural counties that are tobaccodependent and/or economically distressed. Scholarships for both occupational and curriculum students are available during the fall, spring and summer semesters. The deadline for applications for the fall term is September 25,2015. Please contact the financial aid office at 336.249.8186, ext. 6393 to receive information about the scholarship program and an application.

The Golden LEAF Scholarship program, designed to help North Carolinians attend the state's community colleges, is funded through a $750,000 grant from the Golden LEAF Foundation. Mary Rittling, President of Davidson Community College says, "DCCC is thrilled to be part of the Golden LEAF Scholarship program and happy our students may benefit from it. Community Colleges play a crucial role in the Carolina communities on many levels. It is admirable that the Golden LEAF Foundation recognizes this importance and funds scholarships for our students. Undoubtedly, these scholarships will enhance DCCC's students higer education experience and lead to great outcomes." "The Golden LEAF Foundation is proud to have awarded over 9,600 Golden LEAF Scholarships to help North Carolinians attend our state's community colleges," said Dan Gerlach, Golden LEAF President. "Our hope is that these scholarships will help build the talent, knowledge and skills of our current and future workforce, which are in demand by industry, especially in the rural areas of our state." The Golden LEAF Foundation is a nonprofit organization established in 1999 to help transform North Carolina's economy. The foundation receives one-half of North Carolina's funds from the 1998 Master Settlement Agreement with cigarette manufacturers and places special emphasis on assisting tobaccodependent, economically distressed and/or rural communities across the state. The Golden LEAF Foundation works in partnership with governmental entities, educational institutions, economic development organizations and nonprofits to achieve its mission. The foundation has awarded 1,346 grants totaling more than $591million since its inception. For more information about the foundation, visit www.goldenleaf.org or call (888) 684-8404. Students interested in applying for a Golden LEAF Scholarship should contact the Davidson County Community College Financial Aid Office at 336.249.8186, ext. 6393.


About Davidson County Community College
Founded in 1963, Davidson County Community College is noted for its quality educational programs and services. As one of 58 institutions within the North Carolina Community College System, DCCC offers studies in more than 50 degree programs. A fully accredited, multi-campus college, DCCC celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2013 and is looking forward to serving students in Davidson and Davie counties for many years to come. The college is committed to developing minds, inspiring imaginations and preparing students for enhanced career and educational opportunities within a changing global environment. Visit Davidson County Community College at davidsonccc.edu.


Golden LEAF Scholars Program – Two Year Colleges Participating Campuses:

Alamance CC

Fayetteville Tech. CC

Richmond C   

Asheville-Buncombe CC

Forsyth Tech. CC

Roanoke-Chowan CC

Beaufort County CC

Guilford Tech. CC

Robeson CC

Bladen CC

Halifax CC

Rockingham CC

Blue Ridge CC

Haywood CC

Sampson CC

Brunswick CC

Isothermal CC

Sandhills CC

Caldwell CC & Tech. Inst.

James Sprunt CC

South Piedmont CC

Cape Fear CC

Johnston CC

Southeastern CC

Carteret CC

Lenoir CC

Southwestern CC

Central Carolina CC

Martin CC

Stanly CC

Central Piedmont CC

Mayland CC

Surry CC

Cleveland CC

McDowell Tech. CC

Tri-County CC

Coastal Carolina CC

Montgomery CC

Vance-Granville CC

College of the Albemarle

Nash CC

Wake Tech CC

Craven CC

Pamlico CC

Wayne CC

Davidson County CC

Piedmont CC

Western Piedmont CC

Durham Technical CC

Pitt CC

Wilkes CC

Edgecombe CC

Randolph CC

Wilson CC


Applicants must reside in one of the following counties to be eligible:

Alexander, Alleghany, Anson, Ashe, Avery, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Burke, Caldwell, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Cleveland, Columbus, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Davie, Duplin, Edgecombe, Franklin, Gates, Graham, Granville, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Jackson, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, Martin, McDowell, Mitchell, Montgomery, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Polk, Randolph, Richmond, Robeson, Rockingham, Rutherford, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance, Warren, Washington, Watauga, Wayne, Wilkes, Wilson, Yadkin or Yancey