Davidson County Community College Tau Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Inducts 51 New Members

Phi Theta Kappa 1

May 14, 2015 – The Davidson County Community College Tau Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa inducted 51 new members during a ceremony held recently on the Davidson campus.

Joey Goodman, program director of Continuing Education, addressed inductees as keynote speaker. DCCC President Dr. Mary E. Rittling also spoke at the event.

“We’re so excited to continue the biannual tradition of recognizing the academic excellence of our students,” says Sara Neeves, chapter adviser and faculty, sociology. “I’m thrilled that our club has inducted 100 new students into Phi Theta Kappa this year and hope that we can continue this trend in the future.”

Spring 2015 inductees are Zandra Adderley, Dennis Argueta, Nancy Arphai, Kevin Arreola, Jordan Barkley, Tima Bektic, Shonda Burch, Brandy Carter, Nathaniel Cole, Shelly Crouser, Chelsea Dempsey, Lauren Edwards, Richard Galloway, Malinda Garren, Laqueena Givens, Latrina Givens, Matthew Gonnerman, Lora Goodwin, Samantha Griffin, Ginny Hall, Trevor Hardie, Cailin Hicks, Sara Hoosier, Bradley Hulin, Casey Johnson, Rachel Jolley, Amber Kittrell, Cathy Leonard, Rachel Leonard, Angela Lowe, Heather McClamrock, Jessica McFarling, Meriam McKey, Kelsey Mills, Tammy Mitchell, Anne Poplin, Lydia Richardson, Rebecca Richardson, Scarlett Rickard, Kyle Riddley, Anthony Scola, Katelynn Sneed, Marcela Soto, Sara Terraglio, Ravonda Thomas, Megan Tysinger, Kendra Walters, Michele Westervelt, Courtney Wilson, Emily Worley and Alexandra Zulovitz.

Additionally, the 2015-2016 chapter officers were installed during the ceremony. They are Parker Tilley, president; Robin Beck, vice president of fellowship; Crystal Kissee, vice president of fundraising; Nicole Craver, vice president of leadership; Darlene Trahan, vice president of service; and Megan Lambeth, vice president of scholarship.

Phi Theta Kappa 2Phi Theta Kappa is an international scholastic society that recognizes the academic achievement of two-year college students. To be eligible for membership, a student must be enrolled in an associate degree program, have successfully completed at least 12 semester hours by the end of the fall semester, have attained a cumulative grade-point average of 3.5 or higher and possess outstanding traits of character and citizenship.

The Tau Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa was chartered at DCCC in 1969.

*Editor’s note: In the first photo, new members of the Tau Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at DCCC were inducted during a recent ceremony. In the second photo, 2015-2016 chapter officers are (from left) Nicole Craver, Crystal Kissee, Robin Beck, Parker Tilley, Darlene Trahan and Megan Lambeth.

Founded in 1963, Davidson County Community College is noted for its quality educational programs and services. As one of 58 institutions within the North Carolina Community College System, DCCC offers studies in more than 50 degree programs. A fully accredited, multi-campus college, DCCC celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2013 and is looking forward to serving students in Davidson and Davie counties for many years to come. The college is committed to developing minds, inspiring imaginations and preparing students for enhanced career and educational opportunities within a changing global environment. Visit Davidson County Community College at davidsonccc.edu.